British Columbia Speed Skating Association 2016 Annual General Meeting

May 29th, 2016 Executive Airport Plaza Hotel, Richmond, BC

1. Meeting Called to Order

The 2016 BCSSA AGM was called to order by President Dave McQuaid at 11:00am.

2. Introductions

Board Members

Dave McQuaid, Jessica Hewitt, Laura Rusnjak, Kristina Krieck, Elizabeth Dier, Ian MacPhail, Colin MacDonald, Jay Morrison.

Staff

Ted Houghton, Lorna Holbech, Keara Maguire

Special Guests

Yves Hamelin, Director, Calgary Olympic Oval and Alison Desmarais, NextGen skater

3. Welcoming Address

President Dave McQuaid welcomed all delegates, special guests and observers and introduced the Board and Staff.

4. Recognition of Delegates

Ted Houghton recognized the delegates and their proxies. There were 18 clubs represented by 27 delegates who carried 55 proxies. An additional 6 votes were carried by the Board of Directors for a total of 89 eligible voters.

5. Acceptance of Proxies

Motion: To accept proxies Moved: Sandy Gibson Seconded: Kim Telizyn

Carried

6. Confirmation of Quorum

In accordance with **BCSSA By-Law 5.2 1(a)** there was confirmation of a quorum with 18 clubs represented of the 24 clubs in the Association.

7. Approval of Agenda

Motion: To accept the Agenda as circulated

Moved: Sandy Gibson **Seconded**: Kim Telizyn

Carried

8. Approval of 2015 BCSSA AGM Minutes

Motion: To approve the 2015 BCSSA AGM Minutes as circulated

Moved: Barb Voql

Seconded: Cal Desmarais

Carried

9. Business Arising from the Minutes

None

10. President's Report

The President's report was presented by Dave McQuaid who highlighted the many accomplishments, at all levels, of our athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers this past season. Our partnerships with both Speed Skating Canada and the Richmond Olympic Oval were recognized as was the close working relationship we have with David Morrison, the Regional Development Mentor Coach. He also highlighted the opportunities for growth and marketing as well as the three primary initiatives (BC Speed Skating Academy, In-Line Speed Skating Association of BC and the First Nations initiative) planned on being implemented this coming season. Thanks were extended to all who give their time to make our sport successful.

11. 2015-2016 Audited Financial Statements

The Treasurer, Laura Rusnjak, presented the March 31st, 2016 Audited Financial statements as circulated.

The increase in Administrative costs were attributed to Academy costs and Event Hosting expenses. The Event Hosting costs were offset by the revenues in the same category.

Motion: To accept the March 31st, 2016 Audited Financial Statements as presented.

Moved: Nicola Brown Seconded: Rick Spencer

Carried

12. 2016-2017 Budget

The Executive Director presented the 2016-2017 BCSSA Budget as a working document. viaSport funding has been confirmed and will remain the same as in 2015-16 - \$127,828. An additional \$20,000 has been confirmed from Canadian Sport Institute but administered by viaSport. These particular funds are auto transferred monthly in the amount of \$1667. Funding through Community Gaming Grants is not known at this time. BCSSA has requested additional funds from this source to support Coaching and Academy initiatives. BCSSA is sourcing additional funds for the Awards and Bursaries categories from non-government sources. Projected surplus is \$378.00 Membership equity is sufficient to run all programs at existing levels if public funding was not received.

When and if substantial adjustments to the budget are necessary, based on confirmed funding, the membership will be advised.

13. Presentation of Membership Fee Structure

Ted Houghton reminded the membership that the fees for 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 seasons remain unchanged as agreed by the membership during the 2015 AGM.

14. Appointment of the Auditor

Motion: To approve Kenneth A. Forcier, CGA. Inc. to conduct a Review Engagement of the financial statements for the 2016-2017 season.

Moved: Trish Archibald **Seconded:** Bruce Wenting

Carried

Note: It was suggested that for the 2017-2018 and 2018-2019 seasons review engagements be undertaken and for the 2019-2020 season we have a full Audited engagement.

15. Elections

An overview of the elections process was presented by Ted Houghton acting as Chair of the Nominating Committee.

a) Board of Directors

Vice-President: 2 year term Elizabeth Dier by acclamation

Treasurer: 2 year term

Laura Rusnjak by acclamation

Secretary: 1 year term

Vacant

<u>Directors at Large</u> 2 year terms - 2 positions: Kristina Krieck and Mike Acton by acclamation

b) Standing Committees:

<u>Athlete Development Committee</u> – 2 year terms – 2 positions Mae Shupe and Nick Zacchia by acclamation

<u>Coaching Development Committee</u> – 2 year terms – 2 positions Barb Back and Lorelei St Rose by acclamation

<u>Club and Membership Development Committee</u> – 3 Vacancies 2 positions for 2 year terms

Margie Krieck by acclamation

2nd position 2 year term - vacant

1 position 1 year term - vacant

Officials Development Committee – 4 vacancies. This is to reflect the structural changes to the committees introduced at the 2015 AGM.

2 positions for 2 year terms
Wim Kok and Bill Kempers by acclamation

2 positions for 1 year terms
Candace Clouthier by acclamation

1 position for 1 year term - vacant

Note: The positions identified as vacant will be filled by appointment of the Board.

c) Appointment of Operational Committees

The Board of Directors will engage existing member of these committees and subsequently appoint to fill vacancies.

<u>Awards Committee</u>: Presently held by Louise McLaren, Mae Shupe and representative of Competitions Committee

Competitions Committee:

Representatives from Athlete Development Committee,

Club and Membership Development Committee, Coaching Development Committee and Officials Development Committee. Each committee to name one representative.

Records Committee:

Presently undertaken by Alison Leach. Function of this committee to be reviewed by the Board of Directors before appointment(s) undertaken.

Risk Management Committee:

Scope of committee subject to review by the Board of Directors but will include, minimally one ODC and one Board appointed representative.

d) SSC Far West Standing Committee Representatives:

Stuart Gibbs has been selected as a Member at Large on the SSC Officials Development Committee.

All other SSC Standing Committees are still undergoing structural changes. Existing BC representatives on the Coaching; Club and Membership and Competition Committees will remain on these committees until SSC advises otherwise.

President Dave McQuaid thanked all those for committing more of their volunteer time to the aforementioned committees and committed the Board of Directors to undertake the appointment process in a timely manner. He also thanked all those present for contributing to the success of the week-end and committed the Board of Directors to reviewing the various recommendations presented by the clubs.

Motion: To adjourn the Annual General Meeting at 1.15pm

Moved: Calvin Desmarais