Speed Skating Canada Competition Development Committee 2016-2017 Report to the BCSSA Membership for the 2017 BCSSA AGM

Members and Meetings

The SSC Competition Development Committee for 2016-2017 was comprised of: Steve Harris (Chairperson), Christina Acton, Claire Loberg, Fritz Schumann, Richard Theriault and Janice Dawson (SSC Liaison). Committee meetings were held monthly via teleconference. An in-person meeting was held in May 2017.

Annual Committee Activity

The Committee is responsible for the Competitions Bulletin, providing technical support to age class national championships and awarding hosts/grant disbursement on an annual basis. The Committee also reviews any proposed changes to the SSC Red Book prior to the annual SSC AGM (to be hosted in June 2017).

The Speed Skating Canada Competitions Bulletin covers event formats for all age-class national championships. There were minor tweaks to the format of specific events for the 2016-2017 season, including removing the 100m event for T2T skaters at the Canadian Age Class Long Track Championship (due to time constraints) and changing the order of the events on the Saturday of the Canada East/West Short Track Championship.

Special Projects

- Throughout the season, the Committee had many discussions and collected a large amount of feedback (including online surveys and branch surveys) regarding the Canadian Age Class Long Track Championship. The competition has grown in size to include up to 170 skaters and was no longer feasible over a two-day period. The Committee's goal was to ensure an adequate amount of skating for each skater over a reasonable competition length. Long Term Participant and Athlete Development (LTPAD) principles were taken into consideration. The Committee has nearly finalized the format and it will be released shortly via the Competitions Bulletin.
- The Committee made updates to the 2019 Canada Winter Games Speed Skating Technical Package, which should be available on the Speed Skating Canada website soon, pending approval by the Canada Games Council.

Respectfully Submitted,

Chris Acton

chris.acton@speed-skating.bc.ca