Message from Janice Dawson, Manager of Domestic Programs with Speed Skating Canada:

“Speed Skating Canada is pleased to announce the 2015 Coaching Symposium to be held June 19-21 in Winnipeg in conjunction with the AGM. Please see attached schedule. The cost is $250 payable to Speed Skating Canada. Includes: 

  • 7 sessions
  • Presenters – National Team Coaches and Regional Development Mentors, Guest Speakers
  • Awards Dinner
  • Winnipeg Social Night
  • 2 breakfasts
  • 1 lunch
  • Professional Development Points

Please indicate your interest in this event by April 24, 2015. To register contact Janice Dawson by May 29, 2015.”

Another very successful Can West Championships by all BC skaters, including 12 Gold medals; 9 Silver and 16 Bronze medals!
Led by Age Class Champions Annabel Johnson and Steven Lim, medal winners included:
Annabel, 2G and 2B, Steven, 2G, 1S and 1B,  Sherilyn Chung with 2G, 1 S and 1B , Janie Green, 2G, Keanan St Rose and Ciaran Scott each with 1G and 1B,
Other Silver medal winners were Lukas MacDonald (2), Eric Orlowsky (2) and 2B, Mike Shi and 1B and both Jr and Sr Girls relay teams
Other Bronze Medallists with two each were Laura Hall, Tahlon Flamma and Jessie Lee. Also winning Bronze medals wereYuna Lowell, Micehlle Kalkman and the Sr Boys relay team.
Well done Team BC!

The BC Winter Games 2016 in Penticton are less than a year away! BCSSA must name a Zone Rep for each zone by mid-April. If you are interested in volunteering to help to select and register your zone’s team, please email Chris Acton ( by April 5th. Zone Reps are required for the following zones: Zone 6 (Island) and Zone 7 (North West, including the Fort St James, Vanderhoof and Terrace clubs).

Congratulations to Jamie MacDonald, who won the Canadian Senior Open Selections #2 this past weekend in Calgary. The Senior Selections #2 showcase the country’s top senior and junior skaters, with the exception of those who are at the World Championships (in Moscow, Russia). BC skater Courtney Shmyr finished the competition in 6th and Michelle MacKay was 15th. Kaelin McNally finished 23rd. Congratulations to our female skaters!

Congratulations to Denny Morrison (Fort St John) who was named Male Senior Athlete of the Year at the 49th Annual Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards! Denny’s 2013-2014 season was highlighted by winning two individual Olympic medals at in Sochi.

Jessica Hewitt (Kamloops) was a finalist in the Female Senior Athlete of the Year category after a 2013-2014 season which included a relay medal in Sochi.