The BCSSA and Speed Skating Canada (SSC) award winners will be recognized at the upcoming AGMs for both organizations. Nominations are due at the beginning of May for both sets of awards, as described below:

BCSSA Award Nominations

BCSSA award nominations are accepted via online form by May 1st. All award information, including links to the online forms, can be found on this webpage: BCSSA Member Recognition.

SSC Award Nominations

SSC award nominations are accepted via nomination form by May 4th. All nominations for SSC awards must be submitted via BCSSA, to ensure completeness and consistency. Please send the completed SSC nomination form (found on the SSC Awards webpage) to the BCSSA Awards Committee by May 1st. The BCSSA Awards Committee will ensure that the nominations are forwarded to SSC prior to the May 4th deadline.


It is with mixed emotions that we announce that effective April 15th, Keara Maguire will be leaving BCSSA to further her professional career in the health care system. Keara has spent the past three years as our Sport Manager and provided invaluable support during the time Chris Acton was on leave. We are most grateful, particularly, for her work with MMS and as the BC Winter Games 2018 Provincial Advisor.
We wish her all the best as she pursues opportunities within her chosen career and, on behalf of the entire BCSSA membership, we are most grateful for all that Keara has done to strengthen the Association. Until such time as BCSSA hires her successor, any inquiries that were directed in the past to Keara should now be directed to Ted Houghton and copied to Chris Acton.

Good luck Keara!

Speed Skating Canada is searching for hosts for competitions during the 2018-2019 season:

Please note that all bids from interested BC clubs MUST come to BCSSA first, via Do not submit directly to Speed Skating Canada. Please forward bid packages to BCSSA by April 20th, 2018. BCSSA will subsequently forward the applications to SSC by the April 23rd deadline.