

PO Box 2023 Station A, Abbotsford BC V2T 3T8

Tel: 604.746.4349 Fax: 604.746.4549

PARTNERS















British Columbia Speed Skating Association 2017 Annual General Meeting May 28th, 2017

McArthur Island Sport Centre Conference Room, Kamloops, BC

1. Meeting Called to Order

The 2017 BCSSA AGM was called to order by President Dave McQuaid at 11:17am.

2. Introductions

Board Members

Dave McQuaid, Jessica Hewitt, Laura Rusnjak, Kristina Krieck, Elizabeth Dier, Ian MacPhail.

Staff

Ted Houghton, Lorna Holbech, Christina Acton, Keara Maguire

Special Guests

The President welcomed Sue Spencer, Past BCSSA President, Jamie MacDonald, Eric Bedard and Maggie Que from the Calgary oval

3. Welcoming Address

President Dave McQuaid welcomed all delegates, special guests and observers and introduced the Board and Staff.

4. Recognition of Delegates

Ted Houghton recognized the delegates and their proxies. There were 18 clubs represented by 27 delegates who carried 55 proxies. An additional 5 votes were carried by the Board of Directors for a total of 87 eligible voters.

5. Acceptance of Proxies

Motion: To accept proxies Moved: Jessica Hewitt Seconded: Kim Telizen

Carried



PO Box 2023 Station A, Abbotsford BC V2T 3T8 Tel: 604.746.4349 Fax: 604.746.4549

PARTNERS















6. **Confirmation of Quorum**

In accordance with BCSSA By-Law 5.2 1(a) there was confirmation of a quorum with 18 clubs represented of the 24 clubs in the Association.

7. **Approval of Agenda**

Motion: To accept the Agenda as circulated

Moved: Julian Green Seconded: Kim Telizen

Carried

8. **Approval of 2016 BCSSA AGM Minutes**

Motion: To approve the 2016 BCSSA AGM Minutes as circulated

Moved: Rick Hoffman Seconded: Cal Desmarais

Carried

9. **Business Arising from the Minutes**

None

10. **President's Report**

The President's report was presented by Dave McQuaid who highlighted the many accomplishments, at all levels, of our athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers this past season. Our close partnerships with Speed Skating Canada; the Calgary Olympic Oval and the Richmond Olympic Oval were recognized.

The report highlighted the planning by Board and staff around both succession and moving BCSSA to a virtual office model with the retirement of Lorna.



PO Box 2023 Station A, Abbotsford BC V2T 3T8

Tel: 604.746.4349 Fax: 604.746.4549

11. 2016-2017 Audited Financial Statements

The Treasurer, Laura Rusnjak, presented the March 31st, 2017 Reviewed Financial statements as circulated.

The increases in Administrative costs were attributed to Academy costs and Event Hosting expenses. The Event Hosting costs were offset by the revenues in the same category.

 $\textbf{Motion:} \ \textbf{To accept the March 31}^{\text{st}}, \textbf{2017 Reviewed Financial Statements as}$

presented.

Moved: Laura Rusnjak Seconded: Rick Spencer

Carried

12. <u>2017-2018 Budget</u>

The Treasurer presented the 2017-2018 BCSSA Budget as a working document. viaSport funding has been confirmed as \$118,375

An additional \$25,000 has been confirmed from Canadian Sport Institute and administered by viaSport.

Funding through Community Gaming Grants is not known at this time. BCSSA has requested the same funding level as last year. BCSSA is sourcing additional funds for the Awards and Bursaries categories from non-government sources. Projected surplus is \$378.00 Membership equity is sufficient to run all programs at existing levels if public funding was not received.

When and if substantial adjustments to the budget are necessary, based on confirmed funding, the membership will be advised.

13 Presentation of Membership Fee Structure

The Treasurer reminded the membership that the fees for the 2017-2018 season remain unchanged as agreed by the membership during the 2015 AGM.



















PO Box 2023 Station A, Abbotsford BC V2T 3T8 Tel: 604.746.4349 Fax: 604.746.4549

PARTNERS















14. **Appointment of the Auditor**

Motion: To approve Kenneth A. Forcier, CGA. Inc. to conduct a Review Engagement of the financial statements for the 2017-2018 season.

Moved: Laura Rusnjak Seconded: Kari Rae

Carried

15. Elections

An overview of the elections process was presented by Ted Houghton acting as Chair of the Nominating Committee.

Appointment of Scrutineers:

Sue Spencer and Bill Kempers were appointed to act as Election Scrutineers.

a) **Board of Directors**

President: 2 year term

• Dave McQuaid - acclamation

<u>Treasurer:</u> 1 year term:

• Vacant – to be appointed by the Board of Directors

<u>Secretary:</u> 1 year term:

• Kari Rae- acclamation

<u>Directors at Large</u> 2 year terms - 2 positions:

• Jen Gibson - acclamation

One position to be appointed by the Board of Directors

b) **Standing Committees:**

- i) Athlete Development Committee Two year terms, 2 positions
 - Thomas McLennan acclamation.
 - Tina Peters acclamation.



PO Box 2023 Station A, Abbotsford BC V2T 3T8 Tel: 604.746.4349 Fax: 604.746.4549

ii) Coaching Development Committee

2 positions, Two year terms

- Keith Gordon acclamation
- Ariana VanDerStarre acclamation

iii) Club and Membership Development Committee - 3 Vacancies

2 positions, Two year terms

- Nicola Brown acclamation
- Tania Lauren acclamation 1 position, One year term -
- Sandi Vyse acclamation

iv) Officials Development Committee

2 positions, Two year terms

- George Moore acclamation
- Candace Clouthier acclamation

c) **Appointment of Operational Committees**

The Board of Directors will engage existing member of these committees and subsequently appoint to fill vacancies.

Awards Committee: Mae Shupe, Donna Mah (tentative), Sophie Beriault and representative of Competitions Committee

Competitions Committee:

Representatives from Athlete Development Committee, Club and Membership Development Committee, Coaching Development Committee and Officials Development Committee. Each committee to name one representative.

Records Committee:

Under the leadership of the BCSSA Technical Director.

Risk Management Committee:

Scope of committee subject to review by the Board of Directors but will include, minimally one ODC and one Board appointed representative.

Dave McQuaid thanked the scrutineers for their involvement in the election process.























PO Box 2023 Station A, Abbotsford BC V2T 3T8

Tel: 604.746.4349 Fax: 604.746.4549

PARTNERS















d) SSC Representatives on Standing Committees:

Stuart Gibbs - Member at Large, SSC Officials Development Committee Christina Acton – Member at Large SSC Competitions Committee All other SSC Standing Committees are still undergoing structural changes.

Existing BC representatives on the Coaching; Club and Membership and Competition Committees will remain on these committees until SSC advises otherwise.

16. Closing

President Dave McQuaid thanked all those for committing more of their volunteer time to the aforementioned committees and committed the Board of Directors to undertake the appointment process in a timely manner. He also thanked the adhoc AGM committee including the Kamloops Longblades for contributing to the success of week-end and committed the Board of Directors to reviewing the various recommendations presented by the clubs.

Motion:

- To adjourn the Annual General Meeting at 12.25pm

Moved: Mae Shupe