

BCA Awards Ceremony 2020



BCSSA Annual Awards

Coach of the Year

Congratulations to Meredith Thornton!

According to her club, Meredith has been coaching "forever" and the club wouldn't be able to run without her. She is always available and volunteers in other capacities within the club as well, including as liaison with the city and school district. Meredith works with skaters of all abilities and with their parents.

Thank you Meredith for your contributions as a long-time coach with the Dawson Creek Speed Skating Club!



Ritha Johnson Official of the Year



Congratulations to Kristina Krieck!

Since her time as a skater, Kristina has spent her winters on the ice developing her officiating career in both short track and long track. As a level 2 Official she spent this season at meets throughout BC from Richmond to Salmon Arm to Fort St. John – including as Chief Referee LT at BC Winter Games, and nationally at Canada Cup 2 in Calgary.

Thank you, Kristina!

Volunteer of the Year



Congratulations to Gerry Christenson!

Gerry's contributions to speed skating in Dawson Creek are immense. Gary is the current vice president of the club and place judges at competitions. As the club puts it, "his grandchildren are part-time skaters but Grandpa is a full-time hero for our club".

Thank you Gerry!

BC Speed Skating Skater of the Year

Congratulations to...

- National LT male: Jacob Graham
- National LT female: Abigail McCluskey
- Provincial LT male: Eric Orlowsky
- Provincial LT female: Kiersten Hagen
- Provincial ST male: Lukas MacDonald
- Provincial ST female: Emily Coons



Skater Bursaries

Congratulations to Annabelle Green and Noah Hyun.

Annabelle plans to attend the University of Calgary to pursue an Arts degree. She has been invited to train with the Calgary Short Track Oval Program. Annabelle is a long time member of the Ridge Meadows Racers.

Noah also plans to attend the University of Calgary to study Psychology while skating at the Calgary Oval.

Noah is a long-time member of the Port Coquitlam

Lightning Speed Skating Club

Congratulations to the Class of 2020! Good luck to all BC Speed Skating Class of 2020 graduates in your future endeavours.





Pat Underhill Spirit of Competition Award

Congratulations to the Kamloops Long Blades! The club had more than 223 "participations" in BC-based competitions this year, and take home the Pat Underhill Spirit of Competition Award.

This Award values the participation of *all* club skaters in competition, where everyone can contribute to a team total, regardless of age or ability.



BCSSA Event Awards

Provincial Relay Challenge (PRC)

Category	Skater I	Skater 2	Laps Completed
Junior All Female	Hana Hoffman	Katherine Brynjolfson	50
Junior All Male	Isaac Plant	Henry Beaton	41
Junior Mixed Genders	Giang-Vi Nguyen	Stephen Lim	50
L2T All Female	April Seely	Madelyn Lazaruk	43
L2T All Male	Heath Kennett	Dylan Park	47
L2T Mixed Genders	Ella Gilbert	Ivan Legebokoff	41
T2T All Female	Calla Haaheim	Talia Halperin	53
T2T All Male	Michael Oetomo	Alex Lim	51
T2T Mixed Genders	Michael Oetomo	Anya Liu	57

Randy Sulyma 5000m Open Award

Congratulations to Joshua Telizn!



BCSSA Recognition Programs

Youth Volunteer Recognition

Congratulations to...

- Adam Abbott
- Aila Norlin
- Austin MacGregor
- Brooke Braun
- Darwin Havelka
- Devyn Hughes
- Emma North
- Hannah North
- Joshua Telizyn
- Cheyanne Key
- Kieran Hanson
- Leah Turner
- Maria Hansen
- Matthew Mitchell
- Nicholas Guliov
- Sidney Bennie
- Willa Ludeman

YOUTH VOLUNTEER RECOGNITION



Team BCSSA @ Canadian Youth Long Track Championship 2020 Red Deer, Alberta February 8-9, 2020



Calla Haaheim - Erik Haaheim - Noah Rubuliak

Cheyanne Key - Benjamin Konwicki- Sidney Bennie - Katherine Wagner - Charlotte Sernoski - Anya Liu - Jack Hanson - Austin MacGregor Beth Smith - Nora Wagner

Ariana VanDerStarre - Ally Hoffman - Matthew Mitchell- Wilfred Chan - John Hill - Theory Havelka - Arthur Barnsdale - Asher Barnsdale - Adam Turner - Jennifer Gibson Sarah Hanson - Manuela Escobar Ballen - Prabhnoor Grewal - Maria Hansen - Mattias Daniels

Not pictured: Nate Benn



Team BCSSA @ Canadian Junior Long Track Championship 2020 Calgary, Alberta January 3-4, 2020



Nicholas Guliov, Kieran Hanson, Josh Telizyn, Craig Miller, Eric Orlowsky Brooke Braun, SIdney Bennie, Amanda Mitchell, Adam Mong, Cameron Thomas, Jack Hanson



Team BCSSA @ Canadian Junior Short Track Championship 2020 Calgary, Alberta November 29- December 1, 2019



Lukas MacDonald and Samuel Green

Special Recognition

S. Marshall Shupe II



13th Overall National Ranking 9th US Championships 5th US Junior Championships

External Recognition Awards

viaSport Provincial Competition Coach of the Year

Congratulations to Fort St John Elks coach Richard Stickel!



Thank You!

The BCSSA Awards Ceremony requires countless hours of work. Thank you to:

- The BCSSA Awards Committee Members (Sophie Beriault, Tina Peters, Janet Smith, Mae Shupe, Richard Krieck, Chris Acton)
- The nominators, who took the time to nominate their deserving club members
- The nominees and award winners, who dedicate incalculable hours to volunteering and excelling at our sport
- The photographers who capture our sport
- Contact Info: awards@bcspeedskating.ca